Hokkaido Satouka Ramen

Ramen has grown in its popularity around the downtown core – and its prominence in the city is endless. However, it’s often hard to find the right, authentic taste to transport you to a true Japanese dining experience – and Hokkaido Satouka Ramen did just that for me. I have always been wanting to try this place, but the lines were just so crowded because of how popular it was! Luckily one day, a friend and I managed to grab a table for 2 – and I am happy to tell you about my experience with Satouka:

The inside of Satouka was quite small, yet cozy. There’s an option to sit at the ramen bar, or at simple wooden tables surrounded by dark wood walls and simple decor. The waiter directed us to a seat and handed us a menu with a friendly smile and and genuine enthusiasm. He was happy to answer any questions we had, and took our orders promptly. 

Company’s Order:

“Karo Miso Ramen with the Negi Meshi Bowl Combo”

20170420_173738-1

The clear excitement of my company with this combo offering at Satouka really emphasized the popularity of the restaurant – he was very satisfied with what he ordered! He profusely explained how the ramen was perfectly flavored – especially because the Karo Miso Ramen may have potentially been a little bit on the spicy side (he’s not too much of a fan of spicy!), but it ended up being the perfect amount of spice. In addition to this, he thought that the Negi Meshi Bowl had such savoury tastes in the tofu and green scallions, with rice that was “perfectly fluffy” on his account. 

My Order

“Shoyu Ramen with Negi Meshi Bowl Combo”

20170420_173714-1

My dinner at Satouka was the same combination as my company, but with Shoyu based ramen instead of Kara Miso (personally did not want to take the risk with spicy!). Much of my account runs parallel with my company’s, however I must add that the ramen here at Satouka stood superior to other ramen places I’ve been to particularly because of their ramen noodles. The noodles here at Satouka were perfectly chewy and didn’t taste like they were store bought, like at other ramen restaurants. The noodles were extremely fresh and the soup base also packed with flavor – not just the overwhelming salty that some ramen restaurants tend to have, but a perfect balance of salt, sweet and savory. I was very impressed with the balances of dishes in my combination – the egg and pickled veg on the side perfected the entirety of the dinner because it would balance with the perfect, hot temperature of the soup. As well, the Negi Meshi was something new for me, and definitely a treat! 

Overall, I can say that Hokkaido really set the bar high for future ramen excursions with my friends – the authenticity of the ramen here was superb and the taste was alluring, and almost addicting. I’m already thinking about when my next visit will be! Until then, foodie utopia was successful with another ramen post for her fellow foodie utopian readers – I hope you’ll like it just as much as I did (if not more!).

20170420_173758

For more information on Hokkaido Satouka Ramen, click over here: https://www.santouka.co.jp/en

Ratings

 

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡   

Taste – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡  

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

Leave a Reply

