The Captain’s Boil

FOODIE UTOPIANS! I’m so sorry for being gone for so long! It’s been one heck of a ride with completing my third year at UofT – that I haven’t been able to come back to foodie utopia, take a deep breath, and take a break from all the stress and struggles of life. You know what though? I’m still alive and happy to bring you another great excursion I embarked on for foodie utopia.

The Captain’s Boil was a franchise restaurant which has gained recent popularity, and had actually come to my attention back in the summer. However, life takes its course and I didn’t have the chance to go to this restaurant, until recently! It was spontaneously decided by my girl friends and I to go to this restaurant – We were running some errands for my best friend’s birthday party that was happening that same night and had gotten hungry, so it was a suggestion casually made. I eagerly expressed my interest in going and we made our walk to the establishment.

The ambiance was modern and really nice – we had the chance to sit down at a pristine black table with brown paper laid on top for the rather messy feast we would soon be having. The ordering was fairly simple – you get to choose the type of seafood you want, along with a range of different flavors/sauces that the seafood would be marinated in. Once ordering, we would get all the food in a plastic bag and you’d simply dive into the feast with an apron and gloves at hand! 

20170317_17353020170317_173611

The orders that my friends and I got included the Shrimp and Mussels  in Mild Captain’s Boil Signature Sauce, along with their famous Cajun Seafood Fried Rice. The food came out perfectly hot and ready to be eaten straight from the bags. I’d say that my favourite thing to eat for dinner that day was the Mussels, because the sauce would accumulate in the shell for perfect slurping action (mm!). The shrimp was also great, and packed some huge tasty flavor. Paired with the cajun fried rice, the seafood we had was a delicacy and really made the three of us girls full, yet satisfied with the meal that we were able to indulge in. 

This first time excursion with my girl friends was actually so delectable, that I had to return the next day to take my mom for lunch – as she was staying downtown with me because of my festivities happening the night before. It was just that good! Our order was very similar to what I ordered the first time, except we ordered the Crawfish instead of shrimp. This change unfortunately, may not have been the best one, simply because it was very difficult to eat the crawfish. Crawfish in generally has little meat and we couldn’t thoroughly enjoy it without encountering difficulty with its shell. However, the marination of the seafood was still spectacular and the service was very kind to us. I still enjoyed my meal and was happy to take my mom there, as you can see down below! 

 

Overall, I can definitely see why The Captain’s Boil became so popular. It was a very fast, interactive experience (foodie to food) and gave patrons free reign on messy eating. The food was spectacular and had quality taste, and the service was supreme. They were quick to take our orders and attend to any needs we may have – whether that was refilling our glasses with water or handing us another pair of gloves for the continued feast. I highly recommend trying this fun and engaging restaurant to eat if you’re down to get messy, and enjoy quality seafood.

For more information on The Captain’s Boil, take a gander at their website: https://www.thecaptainsboil.com/

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡   

Taste – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡  

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

 

Leave a Reply

