Light Café

Light Café is a Taiwanese inspired café offering a great selection of different foods and drinks with a gourmet feel and a contemporary twist. It’s located in Baldwin Village – an area that I have become very fond of because of its close proximity to campus as well as the great variety of choices for dining – Light Café now officially one of them! I had the pleasure of coming to this establishment with the same company I got to try Kuni Sushi Ya with, which was actually across this café (check out that post here: https://foodieutopiablog.wordpress.com/2016/12/13/kuni-sushi-ya/).
20161219_141442

Light Café was basically a hidden gem – had I not seen Kuni Sushi Ya across and recalling seeing the café when I was eating All You Can Eat, I’d probably have trouble locating the joint. The entrance and the sign are pretty small, so be aware of where to actually find the café! However, once you enter, the modern ambiance inside this well orchestrated establishment provides the customer with cool vibes and relaxing atmosphere. I managed to reach Light Café and met up with my company in the back of the café, where a beautifully coloured menu was waiting at my seat.
20161219_141602-1

Light Café offers a variety of items ranging from lattés to croissant sandwiches to hot and cold beverages. Of course, given the extremely Canadian cold weather outside the café, a cold drink wasn’t exactly suiting, and neither were the cold cut options for food. So my company and I got a selections of warm, delectable food and beverage.

My Company’s Selection: Grilled Chicken and Asparagus Salad with Sesame Sauce 

At first I was in awe that my company would select a salad type meal for her lunch for the excursion, over the variety of other scrumptious looking options on the menu. However, I can actually say that this salad is not your typical one! It had a great assortment of fresh vegetables such as spring mix, peppers, radish, roasted cauliflower, lettuce and cherry tomato topped with Parmesan cheese, asparagus, and grilled teriyaki chicken. The dish came out steaming hot, with the side of sauce of her choice. Once the sauce was mixed in and she took the first bite, I could see that she was pleasantly surprised at the savory tastes and the satisfaction was clearly evident! I took a sample of her salad as well and I must say that I had to resist grabbing another bite; it was absolutely fabulous! My friend finished this dish all on her own with ease and felt quite filled afterwards too. 

My Selection: Cotton Candy Coffee

Instagram had tempted me with this selection – I actually came across this place because my close friend and one of her other friends had made a visit to Light Café and this display was to die for. Definitely looking at the display on the menu and recalling the pictures my friends took enticed me to pick this coffee as a beverage for the afternoon. The waiter served it to my table and kindly asked if I needed direction as to how to prepare the coffee – and when requesting so, he was able to give simple instructions to follow to get my coffee set up. 

The cotton candy ball is placed on top of the cup and I simply pour the coffee over top it – then adding as much milk as I desire. The coffee set up also offered some biscuits on the side which were very sweet and added to the taste of the coffee. The brew of the coffee was definitely strong, but if you are looking for more of a sweet-tasting latté, perhaps this will not be your go-to. I think that this coffee experience is definitely more for aesthetics – as the coffee is basically your standard cup of joe, with a show. Moreover, I believe that this is more on the bitter tasting side due to the fact that the milk was more partly skimmed, and almost frothy, so it did not add any additional taste to the coffee aside from the cotton candy that dissolved into the mixture. I would have enjoyed it better, perhaps if the set-up used cream instead of milk, and had some sugar on the side as well.

Overall, Light Café does not fail to impress – their chic displays of the food are absolutely phenomenal and look exactly as presented in the menu. They do not disappoint with their presentation, but the service was a little bit slow. The café was busy though, so I think that may have been a factor coming into play for a rather slow service. I wouldn’t mind coming back again though!

For more information on Light Café and what they have to offer – take a look at their website: http://lightcafe.ca/

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡  

Taste – ♡  ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ 

Leave a Reply

