Kuni Sushi Ya

Let me give you a brief rundown on my prior events before deciding spontaneously to try something new of the All-You-Can-Eat variety:

Monday, December 12th 2016:

8:30am-8:40am: I had commuted to Union Station in hopes of catching the U line to get to my 9 am health studies exam on time. NOPE. Cancellations due to a fire happening in the subways shut-down the entire U both ways! The commuters chaos was surreal and the whole TTC that morning was an abomination (you can read about the story here: http://www.blogto.com/city/2016/12/ttc-apologizes-horrific-subway-service-toronto-morning/). 

8:40am-9:00am: Being the dedicated student I am, I ran from Union all the way to the north part of St. George and College Street (that’s Bahen Centre, for all my fellow UTSG Foodie Utopians) – trekking through harsh conditions including snow, slush, and 6 inch heeled boots. Miraculously, I made it right on time for the exam, and finished it with ease.

Once completing the exam, I was officially free from the tortures of third year first semester! My friend and I, after the exam, found ourselves casually relaxing in the Med Sci building on campus until we realized just how hungry we were after the day’s affairs. After contemplating over different restaurants and different cravings – Kuni Sushi Ya enticed the both of us due to its close proximity, as well as their All-You-Can Eat Selection.

snapchat-6270382456871056299-1

Upon entry into the restaurant, I must say I was a bit uneasy seeing the place was visibly empty (perhaps about 1 or 2 patrons sitting in this largely spaced room) but this enticed and hungry Foodie Utopian didn’t let the emptiness stop her! Besides, my company for this excursion insisted that the food here was well worth the $13.99 All You Can Eat buffet – and I have full trust in my sources. 

The waiter gestured us to a table of our liking, and were handed a menu and a little white pad to write down everything we wanted to order. In my opinion, compared to other All You Can Eats that I have been to, this place did not have much of a variety on their menu. For instance, if you were coming in looking for a shrimp tempura or a standard unagi (BBQ Eel) maki (like how I was) you’d be in for some disappointment. I believe it’s because a lot of their special rolls had the unagi and shrimp tempura embedded in them, so they didn’t offer them separate on their menu choice. Regardless, I bear well with improvising, and ordered all my favourites, along with my company’s.

snapchat-1622159327169523705

Some of the items we took for our All You Can Eat Includes:

  • Miso Soup
  • Edamame
  • CN Tower Pizza – consisting of fish eggs, tempura batter, spicy mayo sauce; as depicted in the picture above
  • Salmon Rolls
  • Spicy Salmon Rolls
  • Hokkagai Sushi
  • Octopus Roll
  • Mackerel Sushi
  • Rainbow Sashimi Rolls
  • Dynamite Rolls
  • Black Dragon Rolls

Once this was all in the process of getting eaten, both my friend and I were so full – I even had to un-button myself in order to give my stomach some room to breath! The quality of an All You Can Eat buffet, particularly at Kuni Sushi Ya, deserves decently high rankings – I believe that what I ordered was well worth what I paid for the meal. Everything arrived at the table in a timely manner and I had the chance to hang out with one of my close friends whom I actually… never got to hang out with outside of school (UofT does this to people). It was spontaneous, it was pleasant and it was something that I could now document here on Foodie Utopia. There was no losing in this situation!

To end our All You Can Eat extravaganza,we treated ourselves to scoops of Ginger, Green Tea and Red Bean Ice Cream for dessert.

snapchat-2508518809567553733

Kuni Sushi Ya is located in Baldwin Village, and I highly recommend others to come here as well. They offer All You Can Eat, Takeout and A-La-Carte at reasonable pricing, so you’re not restricted to stuffing yourself with all their sushi selection in the All You Can Eat (but then again, why wouldn’t you?!). The service was as expected, and the excursion was very smooth. I’m glad that I discovered a new place that’s close to campus – and now I know where to go to satisfy my rather large cravings for sushi. 

Be sure to take a visit to their location:

untitled

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Taste – ♡  ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shadman says:

    Wow! Love this! ❤ My bf David enjoys sushi. I may have to take him here once the exam season chills out. Looking forward to the next blog. Thanks Samantha!

    -Shadman

    Like

  2. Hubby says:

    A sweet and charming blog from a sweet and charming blogger!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

