Holt’s Cafe

In the heart of Holt Renfrew on Bloor Street – a hidden gem for a fancy appetite can be found. Despite making frequent visits to Holt Renfrew back when I used to live in Yorkville, I have never discovered Holt’s Cafe until my company made this suggestion over a chat message. Willingly, one Monday evening we decided to check it out together.

Holt’s Cafe was definitely hidden – it can be found by the right side of the escalators leading up to the women’s shoe section. Discovering its existence was a pleasant surprise for myself, because I did remember coming to the women’s shoe section in HR but had never seen this place before! Upon our entrance, the ambiance was fit for the upper class. Polished beautifully in white decor and having a simple, modern feel, I knew that my time at Holt’s would be a great one.

We were greeted by a waitress who welcomed us to a table of our choice. My company and I decided on a table overlooking Bloor Street which was also secluded from other patrons, so it was perfect to having some nice conversation. Our orders were taken swiftly once we got a look at the menu and then we awaited for our selections. The wait time seemed very quick, but perhaps that was because I had great company for the night! We updated each other on the day’s affairs until the selection came out:

Company’s Selection: Roasted Black Cod

20161114_183322

“Kimchi cured, baby broccoli and fried sticky rice”, this selection for dinner was a recommendation on the menu and appears to look very delicious indeed! Based on what was left on Mark’s dish after the dinner was finished (which was nothing, just to clarify) – it seems like he agreed with the menu! It came to the table steaming, and beautifully presented. I contemplated having this selection for myself as well – but because it seemed to be of a spicy taste, and also for the sake of variety for Foodie Utopia, I ended up ordering something else.

My Selection: Holts Burger

20161114_183237

As I’m sure most (or all!) of my Foodie Utopians know – whenever I visit a new place I go for the classic and original dishes. So it was inevitable that I would order the Holts Burger – upon my company’s suggestion, its placement as the first dish in the menu,  as well as my own craving (I had just finished a 2 hour lecture at UofT, so I was starving!).

The presentation of the dinner was phenomenal, and it definitely looked like I had way more to eat than Mark. The fries were seasoned to perfection and the beef patty in the burger was great. My burger consisted of age white cheddar, bacon, sauteed mushrooms and roasted garlic aioli.  What was a bit disappointing was the difficulty of eating the burger because the bun was extremely tough. First attempt at dining on this dish, I tried using my fork and knife – but as the evening progressed I gave up and ate the burger the traditional way. By the end of it all, I had left a great amount of the burger bun on my plate, but the patty and the fries were completed devoured. Perhaps if the bun was softer, I could have enjoyed the burger to its fullest.

20161114_183253

Overall, coming to Holts was a pleasant visit – I definitely have no complaints about my experience there in terms of service, ambiance, and taste. The quality of the restaurant was superb and lives up to its reputation for stylish dining. I’m glad that my company introduced this place to me – the next time I find myself shopping at HR and I start to become famished, I’ll know where to go!

For more information on Holt’s Cafe and what their phenomenal service can offer you, take a click onto their webpage: http://www.holtrenfrew.com/store/holt/pages/services/holts-cafe/toronto

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

Taste – ♡  ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Leave a Reply

