Salad King

Salad King is a rather popular chain restaurant that has gained its popularity among many Torontonians for their stellar Thai cuisine. After finishing off some hardcore midterms (which I was surprisingly satisfied with!) I decided to give myself a deserving break with my friend to check out the movie, Ouija, in the VIP Cineplex Theatre at Yonge Dundas Square, as well as Salad King because it was nearby. My company insist that this was a go-to place for many people in the city, so it was a great opportunity for me to try it out for the first time 

img_20161025_195843

Looking at the menu, I could say that I was quite pleased. The menu had some great selections in a variety of categories including soups, starters, curry, seafood, noodles, as well as a vegetarian selection. In addition to a variety to choose from, Salad King also has rankings on the level of spiciness you would like on any of your dishes as well as choosing among different toppings such as shrimp, chicken or beef. This gave customers ability to customize their dishes to their liking, which is what every patron desires! 

img-20161025-wa0003

Both my company and I ordered stir fried noodles – as Salad King was known for their delicious Phud Thai  and Bangkok Stir Fry, which we ended up ordering. Up above was my company’s Bangkok Stir Fry which was a selection with shrimp, while down below you have my selection of Phud Thai with shrimp. 

20161025_165435

I really liked how Salad King garnished the stir fried noodles with my favourites – cilantro and peanuts – which I have also believed complimented stir fried noodles well. The dishes were absolutely delicious and the food came out quickly and efficiently thanks to some friendly staff. 

My dish in particular was great because I had it with medium spice – just enough to have a great taste for a non-spicy lover like myself. The shrimps were stir-fried to perfection; they were also sweet and seasoned delightfully. One thing that was a bit disappointing was the overwhelming quantity of it. Being a person of petite stature, it was difficult to finish off the dish alone – I had to get my company to help me finish it. If you’re coming to Salad King, I would suggest maybe ordering one dish if you have 2 at your table, or perhaps 2 dishes to share among a larger group. Regardless, the taste is definitely quality and well worth the visit!

My friend’s Bangkok Stir Fry with 1 Chili spice seemed to be a delicious option for the evening, based on what was left on his plate. 

20161025_165429

Overall, Salad King was a great opportunity to not only visit a new place, but also explore Thai cuisine downtown. I only ever had Thai cuisine when I made trips to Thailand itself, but to explore the culture in the heart of my own city is definitely a pleasure. For any Thai cuisine lover, I’m sure that Salad King will satisfy your cravings for Thai variety. Next time I visit Salad King, I’ll be sure to try out their other options!

For more on what Salad King has to offer, take a look at their website: http://saladking.com/

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Taste – ♡  ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Leave a Reply

