Poke Guys

Poke Guys was an excursion made one sunny afternoon in an attempt to try some “Hawaiian” cuisine. Hawaii is my favourite place in the world, and so I would say I have a familiarity with their cuisine, which seems to clash with Japanese style influences (that’s why I put this post under Japanese!). With one of my close friends, I decided to check it out!

20161007_121955

Upon arrival at Poke Guys, we were greeted with a massive line-up of people eager to try out Poke Bowls. It seems that Poke Guys has earned its reputation and many people gathered to try out their food. I find it amazing how popular areas attract people of all types – it’s one of beautiful things about living in a great city like Toronto. That’s a side note though, back to the food!

20161007_122637

The inside of Poke Guys was beautifully coloured with their menu, as you can see in the photo above. You had the option to custom make your own Poke Bowl or choose from their signature bowls. My friend and I, a little bit intimidated by the complexity of making your own bowl, decided to get their pre-made signature bowls. My friend selected the PG Bowl and I ordered the Cali Bowl.

20161007_122659

Maneuvering through the line was actually smooth – Poke Guys had a conveyor like system where one staff member took the orders, dished out the bowls in a line for another staff member to garnish the bowls for each customer in a quick manner. Because of this the line-up was much more bearable and I truly applaud Poke Guys for being very fast in their service!

What was a bit disappointing was the amount of space at PG – because of the large cluster of customers coming for lunch, there was no room for my company and I to eat our Poke Bowls once we got them. We ended up taking them all the way to the Eaton Centre Eatery in order to dive into our poke. 

20161007_124658

This was my first time trying something like this – and for a first time I must say it was very refreshing and surprisingly filling! The Cali bowl had all my favourites – salmon, seaweed, avocado crab coleslaw and white rice garnished with fish eggs, spring mix veggies and some shoyu sauce. This was a very flavorful, bright and yummy dish for me. The same account could be said for my company for my lunch as well – although he’s not too much of a fan for raw foods – it seems like the PG bowl may have changed his mind! The PG bowl had some edamame beans, spring mix, salmon, corn, kimchi and his selected sauce. 

20161007_125013

img-20161007-wa0004

A first try on Poke Guys, and what a treat it was! Even though we had to re-located to a different place to enjoy these bowls due to space issues – it was still a delight to try out this pleasant dish from the tropics of Hawaii! I would definitely say that Poke Guys have piked my interest for poke bowls, and I’ll be back to try some more poke in my continuing adventure in the city of Toronto.

For more information on Poke Guys, visit their beautiful website; http://www.pokeguys.ca/

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Taste – ♡  ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Leave a Reply

