Marcello’s Pizzeria

Marcello’s Pizzeria is the next stop for Foodie Utopia – upon the recommendation of my mom’s coworker, who insisted that Marcello’s only offers the most authentic Italian in the city. There are two locations Marcello’s can be found, one in Toronto on St. Clair West, and their Vaughan location on Rutherford. One evening, my parents and I went to Marcello’s Pizzeria, Vaughan location to test try some of their dishes.

20160824_183557

When we arrived at Marcello’s, the restaurant was jam packed! We were going to make a reservation, but later changed our minds because we didn’t know just how popular Marcello’s was. It’s definitely safer to make a reservation to allow a smooth dining experience, however the wait for us was roughly only 5 minutes, and the waitress took us to the patio seating area so we could look at our menu choices.

20160824_184219

Authenticity was something Marcello’s had in spades – the table arrangement alone spoke for this fact. On the table they had a variety of a typical Italian spices and sauces such as black vinegar, red chilli oil, and olive oil (of course!). The waiter that was in charge of our section greeted us with some bread and butter and took our orders. Below are the selections we made that night!

2 Orders of Calamari alla Griglia:

20160824_184834

This antipasti was absolutely superb – the different flavors in the dish truly catered to my family’s favourite tastes. Calamari alla Griglia is grilled squid marinated with olive oil, lemon and basil pesto. Ordering 2 of these however may have been a bit much for the 3 of us, as the taste had us eating all 8 large pieces of squid which actually filled our stomachs significantly. If you do make your visit to Marcello’s and you’re with a date, friends or family – I highly suggest one order of the antipasti, and one order of their pizza (or an order each for the main course selection of their spaghetti, linguine, and other dishes). Regardless, the three of us thoroughly enjoyed these appetizers.

Mom’s Selection: Spaghetti al Polpette

20160824_191004

Mom’s spaghetti (no reference to Eminem) was Spaghetti al Polpette – spaghetti pasta with ground veal meatballs in a san marzano tomato basil sauce. This was an enjoyable dish for my mom, although on my personal opinion the tomato sauce was a bit sour on the spaghetti. The meatballs were cooked beautifully however, and the different array of flavors from the additions of olive oil and parmesan cheese balanced out the extremities of the original tastes in the dish.

My Selection: Pizza Mia

20160824_190705

My order for the evening was the Pizza Mia – as I knew that here at Marcello’s, their pizza is baked  in a wood oven burning clay oven specially made for Marcello’s in Italy. And so I was delighted when my ten inch Pizza Mia was placed in front of me at the dinner table! This pizza consisted of pesto sauce, goat cheese, grilled chicken, grilled eggplant and sundried tomatoes. Personally I enjoyed everything on this pizza except for the sun dried tomatoes, as they almost had a raisin taste to them which I personally don’t prefer. However I can understand why they are there for the dining experience; since the goat cheese may be pungent in the mouth, I believe they were there to reset the palette so the individual can enjoy the pizza more. I could live without this ingredient though!

My Dad: Linguini di Mare

20160824_191010.jpg

Lastly, my dad’s selection for dinner was the Linguine di Mare – linguini pasta with shrimp, mussels, bay scallops and calamari in a white wine tomato. This dish looked fabulous – and by the looks of what was left at the end of the dinner, it seems like my dad also enjoyed it quite a bit! 

The waiter was extremely courteous and came to our assistance whenever we needed it, and the entire Italian dining experience was supreme overall. It’s a great blessing that they have a downtown location because I would definitely recommend this to all my Torontonian readers and friends! Marcello’s Pizzeria is known for their superior cuisine, and I am definitely an advocate for this statement!

For more information on Marcello’s Pizzeria, take a gander at their site: http://www.marcellospizzeria.com/

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Taste – ♡  ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Leave a Reply

