Kenzo

Kenzo was a spontaneous venture on Yonge Street after an attempted excursion to Poke Guys unfortunately flopped. It was so popular that they had to close for the remainder of the day when my company and I reached their joint. That’s why we found ourselves at Kenzo instead, which happen to be nearby. This change in plans however turned out to be a very pleasant one! Plus, I got the chance to explore a new Japanese place for Foodie Utopia!

We entered Kenzo and it seemed to have mediocre atmosphere. In fact, I was a bit disappointed with the tables we dined on – it seemed like they got them from a cafeteria and moved it into the restaurant. However, my friend seemed to enjoy the seating they provided us, as he claimed they were extremely comfortable.

The service that afternoon was a young waiter who greeted us and swiftly took us to our seats, handed our menus and took our orders. I’d say within 10 minutes, our food already came out, which was great because I was famished! Here’s what we ordered:

My Selection: Classic Shoyu Ramen

20160825_144216

Coming to new establishments, I tend to lean towards classic dishes of the cuisine – which is why I ordered a nice Shoyu Ramen for my first visit. This ramen was made with a tasty Japanese soy sauce to create a tangy and savoury, yet light taste. Topped off with their famous roasted pork, seaweed, onions, egg and fish cake – this ramen was a great lunch for me. I really enjoyed the flavors of the ramen broth and it was served fresh and piping hot.

Friend’s Selection: The King of Kings Ramen

20160825_144433

My company order himself a King of Kings Ramen which seemed to have a variety of things to offer for his dining experience. This was a spicy Netsu ramen with five toppings of roasted pork, sliced egg, fish cake, fresh seaweed and dried seaweed. On his account, it had a very pleasant taste and he finished his bowl with no issues whatsoever. 

Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo of our side dish, but we shared a side of Takoyaki, which is a famous Japanese baked octopus ball filled with octopus, green onion, cheese and shrimp flavouring. For me personally I could live without this side, however I can see why people would enjoy eating it. My friend who is a fan of this side dish seemed to be content with its taste.

20160825_144249

Overall, Kenzo wasn’t suppose to be my excursion for that day, nor did I ever know of its existence until I stumbled upon it. However, I can say with confidence that I was glad I did! Kenzo is definitely an option for me, and for any ramen lover in my opinion, if you’re ever around Yonge street in Toronto and craving some hot ramen! 

Kenzo also has other locations in the GTA, which you can find out more about if you visit their site! http://www.kenzoramen.ca/index.php

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Taste – ♡  ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

 

Leave a Reply

