Pho Pasteur

Pho Pasteur for Bun Bo Hue

Pho Pasteur is located in the Chinatown in downtown Toronto, and was a restaurant my family and I made a visit to, way before the creation of this blog. However, we didn’t enjoy their pho back in those days, and so it came to be a surprise to find that we would be making our visit there after all these years. This is solely because my older brother Erik spoke very highly about their Bun Bo Hue, which he ate recently with one of his Vietnamese friends, and claimed that it was “as great as the Bun Bo in Los Angeles”. 

Side story: There is a restaurant in Los Angeles called Bun Bo Huong Giang that we ALWAYS make visits to when we take our vacations to California. It is by far, the greatest Bun Bo Hue I have ever had.

Curious enough, we decided one afternoon in Toronto that we would go to Pho Pasteur to try it out, and judge for ourselves.

Veggies for the Bun Bo!

You can see from the pictures that the bowl itself is quite large. I think that Pho Pasteur would fair better if they had multiple sizes (i.e: Small, Regular and Large) so that customers could enjoy their Bun Bo more. Since my brother ordered at Pho Pasteur before, we ended up only ordering 3 Bun Bo Hue and requested for a small bowl so my mom and I could divide the noodle soup. 

The Bun Bo at Pho Pasteur was pretty good – I could see why my brother would claim it was comparable to Huong Giang. However, the broth was a bit spicy – so if you are a non-spicy lover like myself, perhaps this isn’t a place you will go to on the regular. However, I could appreciate the taste of the soup behind the spicy – the taste was savory, tasty and had the perfect amount of sweet and salty that every noodle soup lover looks for. 

Overall, this visit was more of satisfying the curiosity of my brother’s claim more than discovering a new place to visit regularly. Given this, I may be biased in my opinion on the quality of the restaurant itself based on this one visit. I think that for fellow Foodie Utopian readers, it is definitely worth a visit to have some taste in Vietnamese cuisine – as service is quick to serve you, and the food was definitely not terrible. 

Here’s all the information you’ll need for your next visit:

Address: 525 Dundas Street West, Toronto ON. M5T 1H3

Phone: 416 351 7188

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Taste – ♡    

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Leave a Reply

