Canoe Restaurant

54 Floors Up: Dining in Style

In the heart of downtown’s financial district, up on the 54th floor of the TD Bank Tower – Canoe serves only the fanciest to its consumers. My cousin, Alex, wanted us to try out their Wine and Cheese selection, just for taste and for the experience. I was ecstatic and looked forward greatly to trying it out with my family for the first time.

We ordered the Biffs Red Wine which was quite a division between sweet and sour – I personally am not a huge fan of wine, however with this wine and cheese experience, perhaps my taste is changing as I couldn’t imagine having the cheese without the wine!

On our Cheese Platter  we had a variety of different cheese displayed beautifully on a glass plate. The waiter informed us that many of the cheese on our platter were imported straight from Prince Edward Island and some classic cheese were on our plate as well, such as the Blue Cheese (though I didn’t enjoy that cheese too much, and neither did any of my company that night).

Tasting the Wine

In the tower, the view was simply spectacular – you could see the lake, the city, and the CN tower all in one window. The ambiance was similar to my time in the CN tower itself and it’s rotating restaurant, just in a different building basically. Canoe did not fail to make me feel very chic indeed. The decor pays homage to Canadian rich and raw environment with wooden chandeliers, moss covered wall art, and copper accents all across the restaurant.

Alex, being no stranger to the wine and cheese scene, taught my brother and I how to dine on this dish the “proper” way. 

Wine and Cheese Night

Things I learned on this excursion:

1) Hold the wine glass at the stem of the glass – that way the wine won’t get warm from the finger tips. Also, stirring the glass in a circular motion as well, enhances the wine’s taste.

2) With each different cheese you take a bite out of, you simply take a sip of wine to pair it with the taste of the cheese – apparently its suppose to enhance the cheese taste that you so desire.

3) On the platter as well, there were some caramelized scones and fruits. My cousin informed me that they were there to “clear the palette” in case you have too much of a cheese taste in your mouth. By eating these, you’ve “restarted” your taste buds so they can experience a new cheese with your wine

*Shoutout to Alex for these lessons!

Via Alex’s Snapchat!

I must say, having family in Toronto is definitely a pleasure, especially having my eldest cousin and my eldest brother working in the Financial District. They get to take me to only the greatest of places, and enjoy the greatest of experiences – Canoe being just one of them! Thank you so much to Alex, for giving me this opportunity to try this out!

Alex and I at Canoe!

For more information on Canoe; visit their site – http://www.canoerestaurant.com/

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡  

Taste – ♡    

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Leave a Reply

