Banh Cuon Pho Ga

Family Favourite on St. Clair!

Being a Vietnamese Canadian, it’s obvious that I would be exploring local foods of my own culture. My parents only take me and my brother to the best Vietnamese restaurants, one of them being Banh Cuon Pho Ga on St. Clair. This is a restaurant that I have been to many times as a child, and today I’m happy to document it here on Foodie Utopia for everyone to learn more about this local restaurant, and more about what you can discover in Vietnamese cuisine.

The Dressings – Nuoc Mam with Ginger and Assorted Vegetables for Soup

It is tradition in Vietnamese restaurants to be served tea, hot or cold depending on the weather (since it was warm out, we settled with cold tea!) We ordered our food and the waitress bought out all the sides, including the “nuoc mam” or fish sauce, and the vegetables for the noodle soup that I ordered.

Up above is my all time favourite order at Banh Cuon Pho Ga, their Bun Ca, or Fish Noodle Soup. Particularly famous in Hanoi, this noodle soup aims to feature all the delicious tastes of fish, sweetness and saltiness all in one large bowl. If you are like me and enjoy sweet yet salty broths and find joy in eating soft, flaky fish, this noodle soup is for you. One thing that makes this dish a bit difficult to eat is its rather large size. Being a person of petite stature, the large bowl of Bun Ca is hard to finish alone. Usually my brother and mom help me out though! No matter what though, this is my first choice at this restaurant!

Lastly, who can come to this restaurant and not order some Banh Cuon Cha Lua? My family orders 4 of the large Banh Cuon every visit we make and they always serve it fresh and hot. It’s always displayed beautifully and has the perfect amount for everyone to enjoy their meals.

Overall, although Banh Cuon Pho Ga is a bit on the local side in terms of ambiance and atmosphere, nothing can beat their authentic Vietnamese cuisine. The food coming out of their kitchen always brings my family and I back for more, and has been a regular family visit. Perhaps it’ll be yours too!

Their current website is under construction, but you can see their menu on their website to check out what you could potentially order here! http://banhcuonstclair.com/

Ratings

Plating – ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Ambiance – ♡ ♡ 

Taste – ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 

Service – ♡ ♡ ♡  

Leave a Reply

